Geraint Reynolds

Sep 17, 2016
Hi guys, I'm very new to droidbox and streaming so please forgive me if this is not the right place to post this.

I am looking for some guidance in ethernet cables to connect my T8-Plus to my router.

Just to set the scene, my router is in my office in my attic. My droidbox in my lounge on the ground floor.

I had planned to run an ethernet cable from my router, down the inside of my chimney breast (unused of course) and out to my droidbox. The distance is about 30 / 35 meters.

I had this cable from Amazon but the reduction in internet speed is terrible. https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B009XSF20S/ref=cm_sw_r_wa_apa_8aX3xbW4SM991

If I connect a 5m cat6 cable from my router to my laptop I get 204 meg. Via this cable, I'm lucky to get 60 meg.

I thought there should be no or little reduction until 100m of cable.

Greatful for any help or suggestions

David Savage

Aug 3, 2014
Somewhere over the rainbow
To be fair 60 meg is still good...full HD you need around 6 to 10 and with 5.1 audio 8 to 12.
So it should be fine, but you could aways try wireless with an adaptor which uses you electric supply to boost your signal.
But as long as it works don't worry...

Geraint Reynolds

Sep 17, 2016
Thanks for the reply David.

I should have said that I currently have my box connected via powerline, but my speed is then around 20 meg.

It's OK when watching movies, but any live TV, I get constant buffering.

Even when I connected my box using this Amazon cable and got 60 meg, I couldn't watch live TV due to the buffering.

I have also used various streams, so I would have thought I had ruled out the stream as the issue.

I can only watch SD on live TV, but the picture then isn't great and still get some buffer.

Nigelar

Feb 26, 2015