FRANKDEMARIANY

Dec 30, 2022
Hi Everyone!

Total noob here so I'm sorry if this has been asked before.

I have an RG351V and when I try to load arcade games or some psx games, I am getting an error. Any tips on how to fix it?

Also, I notice when downloading the PSX games, there are many files to extract. Do I need them all?

Thanks for the help!

Graham1

Nov 30, 2021
Hi Frankdemariany

What type of errors do you get? PSX and Arcade games "may" need some bios/extra files to be able to run. I can't remember if these are included but may be the cause.

For PSX games, I would suggest using CHDMAN. This comes included in Mame. This tool will allow you create 1 file (*.chd). This is a command line tool and to be able to use this, enter... CHDMAN createcd -i "<game>.cue" -o "<game>.chd".

:)

FRANKDEMARIANY

Dec 30, 2022
Thanks for the reply!

Here are some of the things that I am seeing.

For CHDMAN, do I just download it?

Attachments

• IMG_3358.jpg
    IMG_3358.jpg
    2.3 MB · Views: 110
  • IMG_3359.jpg
    IMG_3359.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 101

Graham1

Nov 30, 2021
Depends on what OS you are running. If Windows, I believe it is available from the MAME installer. I'm running Fedora (Linux)

I own the RG351MP (same hardware but looks different). Are you running the frontend that came with the device? I'm using Amber Elec which may be different to what you are using.

From my testing, I was able to run from RetroArch (standalone) to confirm that the rom was ok (wwfwfest.zip). However, when run from the frontend (Amber Elec), it would try to load and then automatically close (could be the same issue). Looking at what cores were being used (for Arcade), it was set to "Auto" and showed a list of cores below. Having set to FinalBurn Neo (FBNeo), I was then able to play the game. Doing the same "may" help you.

Reactions: FRANKDEMARIANY

Graham1

Nov 30, 2021