ugjointer

Mar 2, 2016
Hello newbie here, I currently have my T8 in my lounge but connect it to an RF modulator using the composite to a scart on the modulator through an RF cable to another TV in another room.
For this to work I have to dis the HDMI cable on my T8. Is there anyway to get HDMI and composite to work at the same time so I can watch the same film ?

Sent from my LIFETAB_S1034X using Tapatalk

ChrisM

Staff member
Jul 15, 2014
Cardiff, UK
ChrisMerriman.com
I'll check, but I don't think it outputs to both at the same time, apart from anything else resolution settings in applications would be a muddle, as you'd have 480/576 via the AV composite output, and 720/1080 from HDMI. I've not got anything with phono/SCART input around me right now, so I'll check later on this evening and update this thread.

In the meantime (NOT AN OFFICIAL RECOMMENDATION, JUST A PASSING THOUGHT), have you looked into extending HDMI over network cables? You can spend a lot of money on wireless HDMI adapters, but if you're able to run an aerial cable between the two points, you should be able to get a normal Cat 5/5e cable through the same obstacles, this approach doesn't cost too much.
The site coming in a moment do warn the resolution achievable will depend on the cable length (and to a certain degree, I imagine, the quality of the cable), but I'd still take an 480/576/720 HDMI video signal over the RCA/composite output. http://www.comms-express.com/produc...de=583096313&gclid=CIrZqu-IpcsCFUrlwgodkRUFNw

ugjointer

Mar 2, 2016
An aerial cable was fed into the other room as it was being built , its above ceiling plasterboard most of the way and between dot and dab the rest so the only existing link is the aerial cable from the amplifier behind TV1. I use the modulator to play recorded stuff from my youview box on both at the same time selecting analogue channel on TV 2 .

ChrisM

Staff member
Jul 15, 2014
Cardiff, UK
ChrisMerriman.com