Jon529320

Jan 19, 2015
Hi
I am very new to the Droidbox and the mini keyboard I bought with it.
When I try to type in an @ symbol all I get is ".
I have tried using the shift key at the same time but it doesn't make any difference.
I am sure it is something I have either done or not done so any advice would be welcome.
Also when I first used the Droidbox the location said Shanghai so I click to change it but now it just shows Chinese characters.
Again any help much appreciated.
John

David Savage

Aug 3, 2014
Somewhere over the rainbow
Hi, I have the VIP remote and that's colour coded, if I want to change to a symbol I push the coloured key (ALT) witch it represents. Not sure on this one but have a look.
As for location mine the same(Shanghai), can't you just go back in and change it back.

Reactions: Jon529320

angela

Mar 3, 2015
If you click symbol on search screen it will bring them up,If on internet press ?123 to get symbols up on screen.Cant find out how to do it on remote,hope this helps

Last edited:

Nigelar

Feb 26, 2015
Jon, can you try something. Press the " key. Tell me what you see.
I will be interested if it gives you a @ character.
If so I will attempt an explanation.

ChrisM

Staff member
Jul 15, 2014
Cardiff, UK
ChrisMerriman.com
It sounds as thought the @ and " symbols are swapped over. Press the Shift and Apostrophe keys on your i8 and you'd expect a @ sign. I think a " will appear.
You can either remember to shift+2 if you want an @ sign, and shift+' if you want quotation marks, or you could tweak the keyboard settings with something like Multilanguage Keymap Redefiner - https://play.google.com/store/apps/...eyboard.multilanguagekeymapredefiner&hl=en_GB or similar.

Nigelar

Feb 26, 2015