SuperD

Aug 1, 2016
Hi Guys,

Im pretty new to the world of Android boxes.

I purchased an M8S android box from a amazon last christmas, and have had nothing but hassle with it. Mainly with the various KODI add-ons, but also with other apps i try launch. I tried updating via Settings area, and I get the error "Check Failed. Check your OTA settings".

I recently gave it to a friend of mine who works with these boxes, to update the KODI image, and it seems just as bad.

When i launch movies or sports i.e. NJM Sports, i get errors like "Failed 404", "Script Failed" or "Add-on is incompatable due to unmet dependencies. Would you like to disable".

I cant launch the playstore, just stays on loading circle.

Showbox displays movies list but when i try launch its empty.

Basically it seems to be a pile of rubbish that just wont do anything
frown.png

Im wondering can someone steer me towards updating this box fully from scratch, to a solid current build of both android and KODI? Or is there something obvious i am possibly missing here?

Model Number: wj-m8s

Android V: 4.4.2

Build: KOT49H.20150917-1509 Test-keys

Kernel V: 3.10.33

KODI v: 14.1 (Helix)

Thanks in advance, and great forum.

D

Nigelar

Feb 26, 2015
Two options for you:

Option 1

1.a. Check the date/time is correct. Some machines default to a date in 1970. This can prevent access to playstore. Go into settings - date/time and make sure the automatically set date to network (or similar) box is ticked plus use the options to reset time if necessary.

1.b. Completely delete the installed version of kodi. If playstore now works, get the latest version from there. If not get it from the official kodi website.

1.c. Once you have downloaded it, download the wookie wizard and try the wookie lite or seans build (sean is on this forum as well and his build is well maintained).

https://seo-michael.co.uk/tutorial-how-to-install-the-wookie-wizard-for-kodi/