forfun32

Feb 9, 2017
Hi,

I just purchased my first Android box. It is M8S Pro with Android 6.0. When I watch videos on Kodi, they are very dark. Does anybody know how to fix this? The brightness sometimes seems to go up and down (brighter, darker) but generally it's darker than what you would expect and dark scenes are borderline unwatchable.

I am watching on an LG smart TV.

I've watched Apple TV on my TV with no issues. Same with plugging in laptops or anything else.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Sorry if I'm sticking this question in the wrong place. It's my first time on the forum as well.

Cheers!

Nigelar

Feb 26, 2015
Hi.
When watching a video in kodi, click on the film reel icon. Brightness controls are in there so see if they are set to low.
If that doesnt work you may want to try a different hdml lead in case the original is faulty.
There isnt a specific section for the m8s as it isnt a droidbox supplied machine but the droidbox forum community try and answer general questions so dont worry!

forfun32

Feb 9, 2017
I checked that film reel icon and there are no brightness controls. I've also tried multiple hdmi cables and that doesn't fix the problem either.

StringyMCFC

Apr 23, 2016
You say it seems to go brighter and darker, does it go brighter when a button is pressed and then darker after a few minutes? If so it sounds like screen saver settings on the box itself rather than Kodi. Try going in to settings from the android home screen and disable screen saver. Hope this helps.

StringyMCFC

Apr 23, 2016
Actually, I think (I'm not near a box at the moment to check) there may be screen saver settings in Kodi too. Try android settings and system settings and disable screen saver / screen dimming on both.

Last edited:

Nigelar

Feb 26, 2015
Wifi will have no effect at all.
This is the video settings screen in kodi when you press the film reel icon

Attachments

• IMG_20170209_153749.jpg
    IMG_20170209_153749.jpg
    119.9 KB · Views: 114