james_uk

Feb 19, 2016
Hi i have some questions if that is ok, some might sound stupid others may not lol

I am new to these boxes but i have had media players before (non streaming) where you put files on the hard drive and i have been used to rooting my phone etc, i guess i am saying will probably pick it up quick enough.

The things i wanted to know are:

• The box says it can update OTA, does that mean it updates Kodi automatically or will it also update android as well, or does that have to be done manually?
  • When you do update kodi or android do all your apps have to be reinstalled?
  • My mate said that he is running a build called pulse on his and its really good, if it is in place of kodi then is it best just sticking with kodi over other builds made by random people (3rd party) builds. or am i totally wrong how i am looking at that?
  • if the above isn't right, can the t8 have these 3rd party builds like pulse on, and does that have any effect on your OTA updates?
  • is the i8 remote far better than the one that comes with cheaper units such as http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/..._rd_t=36701&pf_rd_p=577048687&pf_rd_i=desktop i pointed that one out to someone and they said the remote is terrible and to get a Rii MX
    3 remote instead?
I don't think i can think of much else i need to ask but appreciate any help

Regards

James

Last edited:

Nigelar

Feb 26, 2015
1. The ota is generally for firmware updates. Sometimes that will contain a new version of droidbox's badged version of kodi (dbmc). If you run official kodi from the kodi website (and possibly google play) you will get alerted to kodi updates and you make the choice whether to accept or not.