Barneyboy48

May 3, 2016
I am new to all of this, and I have to be honest I hadn't a clue what to buy as regards a streaming box. So on the advice of someone I have been discussing streaming with and to dip my toe in the water as it were, I went off to eBay like many others and bought an inexpensive MXQ box. On the box it came in it tells you it's a OTT TV Box, 4Xcpu 4Xgpu, (whatever that means!) and they cost around £24 to £30 all in.

I was so impressed with the operation of it, I bought another so I could have one in the lounge and another in the bedroom. They are both connected to my router via Ethernet cables.

The later one came with a different opening screen which was a little less, let's say, "up-to-date looking". I can't really pass judgement as I don't really know - that's just the impression I got.

Looking in the system detail via the settings menus for both devices, I see the following:

No. 1 Box.

Model No: S805
Android Version: 4.4.2
Build No: KOT49H.20160224 test-keys
Kernel version: 3.10.33
S8XXBOX@ubuntu01 #1
Tue Jan 54 09:54:42 CST 2016

No. 2 Box.

Model No: MXQ
Android Version: 4.4.2
Build No: KOT49H.20151225 test-keys
Ethernet MAC address: 08:08:00:00:0b:ca
Kernel version: 3.10.33
tiger@ubuntu-server #17
Tue Dec 22 18:14:10 CST 2015

I have no idea really what any of this means, but I'm sure someone will! There are references to the years 2015 and 2016 so I think I am probably thinking in the right direction regarding Box 1 being more up-to-date.

The only difference in content that I see apart from Model No., Build and Kernel information is that there is no Ethernet MAC address information given for Box 1.