Bobjuana

Feb 22, 2015
Hi, I'm a newbie on the forum so my apologies in advance if my problem is a well known limitation/issue etc.

I've searched the forums to avoid duplicating past queries but cannot find anything related?

I purchased a T8 over Christmas and have it connected to an Onkyo receiver with Droidbox set to HDMI pass through and XBMC set to enable pass through, 5.1 and DTS etc. I can't for the life of me find any 5.1 soundtracks, which seems wrong? What am I doing wrong? Every movie I open only has a 2.0 soundtracks which seems bizarre, as i am assuming some/most movie lovers will be looking for a decent soundtrack to accompany their viewing and I can't identify a way of findings these or is there something I'm missing?

Is my install of XBMC the problem or indeed is it a limitation of the device which I'd be hugely disappointed with given I purchased the "best" box available. I'd really appreciate some help and guidance. I've googled and searched forums but found nothing and I don't find XBMC the most intuitive of platforms/Ui's - one of the reasons I bought a Droidbox for I.e. to take some of the hassle and set-up frustrations away.

Thank you in advance for your help.

Regards

Bobjuana

Feb 22, 2015
Hi David, thank you ever so much for your help. I've had a look at the Pheonix repo and like you said, there's a good few 5.1 soundtracks on there and decent 1080 quality streams. Wasn't immediately outputting 5.1 to my amp, but reset audio settings within XBMC to default and then re-enabled HDMI pass through and immediately my amp started recognising Dolby D. haven't found a DTS soundtrack yet, but I'm greatly encouraged by this. Thanks again.

David Savage

Aug 3, 2014
Somewhere over the rainbow